2020 NDSU Composition Contest

Round 2

Round 2 was a text setting round. Except the text was from a box.

Jesse Dunaway: Bachelor 101

Mark Preston: Six Cups Water

Floyd Althoff: Simple Instructions

Connor Lane: DO NOT RINSE

The guest judge has awarded

Connor Lane

the winner of round two, for sheer impressive commitment to the theme.

Round 1

The secret ingredients for round 1 were as follows:

  1. Deceptive cadence (or deception generally)
  2. Sarabande
  3. Sustained

Lauren A. Sampson: Sarabande per Amalie for clarinet and sostenuto pedal
Lauren A. Sampson, clarinet

Matthew Pasch: Sarabande for Solo Oboe.
Mickaela Pasch, oboe

Sam Sharpe: Quahornatine
Laura Jossund, horn
Laura Jossund, horn
Laura Jossund, horn
Laura Jossund, horn

Jesse Dunaway: Sarabande
Hong Liang Andre Ng, piano

Evan Wood: I Hear Sweet Music
Erin Ehlis, voice

Nick Lero: Sarabande in C
Nick Lero, piano

The guest judge has awarded

Lauren Sampson

the winner of round one, for creative usage of the secret ingredients.